WSU Cross Country Fields a Young Team for Bob Timmons Classic at Rim Rock Farm

From, Matt McClain, Contributor:

LAWRENCE—The Wichita State men’s and women’s cross country teams opened up the 2019 season with races at the Bob Timmons Classic on Saturday morning. Photo Gallery at

The Shockers sent four men and four women to compete with athletes from Kansas, Oral Roberts and UMKC. All four of the Wichita State men were true freshmen and three of Wichita State’s women were true freshmen.

Head cross country coach Kirk Hunter said the main goal of the meet was for young athletes to gain experience.

“I think they got their butts kicked today,” Hunter said. “That’s typical for true freshmen in the first meet. They learned some lessons, but that’s a positive thing. I think they can use it to become better athletes.

“Ninety percent of athletes deal with this the first time on the course.”

Britte Magnuson was the first Shocker across the line in the men’s 6K. He finished with a time of 20:28.1. Asher Moen finished 25th, Cade Heikes crossed the line in 28th and Keegan Staats rounded out the Shockers’ efforts with a 30th-place finish.

On the women’s side, Miranda Dick finished 10th overall with a time of 20:00.9. Junior Hope Saunders and true freshman Erin Topham finished in the top 20. Saunders finished in 14th place and Topham came in 19th. Sharon Kiprop capped off Wichita State’s race with a 22nd-place finish.

Hunter said he was impressed with the way Dick, Saunders and Magnuson ran.

Miranda Dick ran really well,” Hunter said. “I think Hope (Saunders) ran a smart race for the most part. On the guys’ side, I thought Britte Magnuson did a great job.”

The Shockers did not post a team score because cross country team scores require five athletes to finish the race.

The 71st annual JK Gold Classic is next up for Wichita State. The Shockers host the meet, and you can find information about the eventhere.

Men’s Individual Results
16. Britte Magnuson – 20:28.1
25. Asher Moen – 21:54.1
28. Cade Heikes – 23:08.5
30. Keegan Staats – 24:46.6

Women’s Individual Results
10. Miranda Dick – 20:00.9
14. Hope Saunders – 20:42.3
19. Erin Topham – 21:46.5
22. Sharon Kiprop – 22:34.0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *